May Beauty Favourites

may faves1

Hello Everyone,

Exploring new products is one of my favourite things to do, and I have been enjoying lots of newbies this month. Lips and cheeks have been a focus for me. Sticking to neutral eye shadows and concentrating on lengthening the lashes and contouring the face has given me the opportunity to play with cheek colours and luscious lippies. That being said, no lipsticks have made it into my faves this month, mainly because I have been trying to use lots of different colours, so no single lipstick has taken center stage. Let’s see what has made the cut:

may faves

 

Beautiful Movements Cosmetics – Prime & Create Mixing Medium Apologies for the little transparent tub. This products is a tester from my latest GLOSSBOX and I knew when I first saw the title of the product that I was going to have fun with it. The idea behind this gel is to experiment with your other products to create new mixes. Examples given are to mix it up with powder blushes to create cream tints, to use with eye shadows to make your own eyeliners or to mix with foundations to form an airbrush effect finish. The latter is the mix up that did it for me this month. Adding a pea sized amount of this onto my hand, then mixing it with my foundation before applying with a brush has improved the application and finish of even my most favourite foundations. It works as a beautiful primer alone, but paired up with a foundation, you’ve got yourself a wow formula. This will definitely be making its way into my shopping basket as soon as this little tub is empty.

Rimmel – Wake Me Up Concealer I bought this product a while back but wasn’t convinced that it rivalled most recent favourite by Bourjois. This month however, as the formula is quite pale, I have been applying it under my eyes, onto the lids and around my nose, before applying foundation. It works really well at lightening up dark or red areas and some days (ones with a higher morning coffee intake) I haven’t even needed to add a product on top too.

Dior – New Look Mascara I have had this mascara for a while and it is one that I return to time and time again after trying new trending products. Don’t be fooled by the tiny plastic wand; It does a fantastic job of separating and lengthening my lashes. This was my first plastic wand mascara and I bought it on recommendation of a friend, unsure of how I felt about changing wand type. I was immediately converted, and although I have since tried other similar wands like Avon and Clinique’s, I always reach for this one for day time looks and to add extra oomph to fake lashes. Sadly it is a product that I rarely see on anyone blog or vlog about, so I’m giving it a big shout out today! I think a mascara picture comparison post is due very soon.

Stila – Convertible Color in Poppy & Petunia Oh my, I’m in love. I haven’t left these beauties alone since they arrived on my door step. Let’s first take a moment to admire the adorable embossed little cases they come in and then to oooo and aarrr at the ever so pretty product inside. These are my first but definitely not my last cream blushes as they apply so easily and look so natural and glowy. I don’t own any other red blushes but as I said in my Rainbow post, I’m not sure why not, as surely red is the natural colour of a pretty flushed cheek. The coral/pink one is very pretty and works well with my Summer lipsticks. It is taking me a lot not to hop right over to the store and buy the rest of the shades.

Lanolips – 101 Ointment There was me thinking my Elizabeth Arden 8 hour cream was the Queen of lip fixing. After buying and loving the Lanolips hand cream I decided to add their lip balm to my collection too. The formula is simple but does wonders for dry lips. I can’t recommend it highly enough for those with dry, cracked lips or just to keep in your handbag to apply over lipstick for a delicious shine. It has taken my number one lip treatment spot!

So there you have it, my fantastic faves for May. Now here I am, already thinking about my June wish list…oops.

Happy Blogging All, xxx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “May Beauty Favourites

Please give me your thoughts ...

