Wedding Makeup – Tried & Tested

20120905-194102.jpg

Hello!

This Summer I was incredibly honoured when my friend asked me to do her makeup for her BIG DAY! As if being a bridesmaid didn’t panic me enough, I now had the pressure of ensuring a beautiful bridal face too. Of course I was also very excited. I love doing people’s makeup, rarely get the chance and what a great way to say ‘I love you’ to a best friend.

Weeks before the wedding we had a good go at testing out my huge collection of makeup products on Ali (the bride to be) to make sure I had the correct shades, tones and tools for her. It was fun trying out different looks but eventually we decided on the exact look for the day, took some photos to make sure and then waited for the event to arrive.

Ali wanted something simple and elegant. Her shabby chic wedding called for a soft pink toned look and due to the fact that she doesn’t usually wear a great deal of makeup from day to day, I didn’t want to overload her face with products that would make her feel uncomfortable.

So…I thought I would show you the products I used and give you a little explanation of why and how.

20120905-213943.jpg
A. Rimmel Wake me up foundation -ivory
Normally I wouldn’t use a foundation with SPF if I knew there was photography involved, but for some reason this foundation makes the skin look really good on camera. I built up a flawless look using a buffing brush and it left the brides face silky and balanced.

B. Collection 2000 lasting perfection concealer – light
What a fantastic concealer for such a bargain price. This product is a must have for me and was perfect for brightening under the eyes on the big day.

C. BareMinerals – translucent mineral veil
I swept this over the brides face to prevent shiny areas from appearing.

D. Benefit – Hoola
Using a soft fluffy brush I contoured the brides cheeks slightly under the cheekbone.

E. VIE -skin dew
I’m not sure if this product is still available but I love it (dupe = Benefits moonbeam). I added a small amount to the tops of the cheeks to bring a little sparkle to the brides face.

F. Avon blush- soft plum
I have mentioned this in a previous blog post. It is one of my favourite all time blushes and was perfect for a delicate flushed cheek.

20120905-214129.jpg
G. Vital Radiance -brow fill powder 04 brunette
I got this on eBay and it says it is a division of Revlon. The lighter shade was perfect for filling in the brides eyebrows to strengthen the shape in photos. I also used the darker shade to line the upper eye lids.

H. Urban Decay – eye shadow primer potion
Of course a primer was needed under the eyeshadow to make sure it lasted the long day. I love this product and use it every time I need a long lasting look.

I. MAC eyeshadow – naked lunch & satin taupe
These are my two favourite eyeshadows from MAC. The lighter shade (naked lunch) has a slight pinky tone and and is perfect for sweeping across the lid. The darker taupe colour can be used in the crease and the corner of the lid. They match perfectly!

J. Natural Collection eye lines – brown
A very pigmented and smudge proof eyeliner. What more can I say?

K. Maybelline Falses mascara -black
This mascara was perfect for lengthening and thickening the brides lashes. It is so easy to use, which is necessary when applying mascara to somebody else!

L. Clinique bottom lash mascara
The bride had very thin fair bottom lashes so this mascara was perfect. The tiny brush is great for getting every tiny lash, and it won’t budge, however much you cry!

M. MAC lipstick – viva glam 5
This is such an elegant lip colour. It is pinky toned with shimmer and applies beautifully.

20120905-195139.jpg

1. Bare Escentials – full flawless face brush
A lovely soft fluffy brush which I used for face powder

2. Bare Escentials flawless face brush
A smaller fluffy brush which I use when a light round of blushes is needed.

3. Real Techniques – buffing brush
I use this for liquid foundation as it buffs it into the skin beautifully and
Is great for building coverage
.

4. Real Techniques – pointed foundation brush
I think this brush is too small for foundation but I use it to add liquid highlighter to the top of the cheeks as it is the perfect size and shape.

20120905-202119.jpg

5. Mac 217 – blending brush
This is my favourite brush for blending darker colours into the crease and corner of the eye for perfect flawless eyeshadow looks.

6. Mac 289 – eyeshadow brush
Perfect for packing on co,our ready to blend.

7. fräulein – eyebrow brush
A must have tool for neatening up those brows.

8. Royal & Langnickel – c490 eyebrow brush
These make of brushes are excellent, although I haven’t come across too many bloggers or youtubers that use them. I got mine fromAmazon and they are a great price and quality.This slanted tipped brush is great for lining the upper eyelid with a powder eyeshadow.

9. Royal & Langnickel- c435 smudge
I used this to run a small amount of the darker eyeshadow under the eye.

10. Real Techniques- detail brush
This is a lovely soft brush that is great for applying an even amount of lipstick.

The wedding was a great success and the bride looked stunning!
I would love to read any comments you have. You can follow me on WordPress or via email.

Thank you for reading! 🙂 xxx

20120905-214824.jpg

2 thoughts on “Wedding Makeup – Tried & Tested

  1. Ali

    My wedding makeup and the choices Shali used were perfect. The time and effort she put into planning the look was the perfect gift to me. Love you millions bestie! xx

    Reply

Please give me your thoughts ...

