August Joliebox -First thoughts!

20120831-112419.jpg
I know people have very different opinions of beauty boxes, but I look at them in this way: They are a little box of fun surprises that you wouldn’t normally discover. So why not ey?! For those of you that have not yet seen or heard of these little treats, they are a box of beauty samples/trials/minis of new and well known brand products for you to try each month. They come wrapped up I. A beautiful box and cost around £10 plus postage each month.

I thought carefully about whether to A. Review a box at the end of the month or B. Give a first thoughts on the box and then show you any fab products that I think are worth buying later.
I decided on Option B because I like to know what is in a box as soon as it arrives and initial thoughts are fun. So here goes.

Before I begin I would like to make a big fuss about a product from my last Glossybox! It is the Yves Rocher- Sexy Pulp Mascara I love this mascara. The bobble end gets right into the corners and the large brush separates, thickens and lengthens lashes too! Just perfect!
Here is a before and after shot. 🙂

20120831-115346.jpg

20120831-121649.jpg

20120831-121705.jpg

August Joliebox
This is my August Joliebox. I have researched each item but will also give you my first impressions.Enjoy!

Essential Care – Organic Rose Moisturiser
rrp £19 50ml

20120831-112937.jpg
Product info:
Treat your skin to the best that nature can offer. A luxurious, antioxidant light-textured day-cream which is fully absorbed leaving the skin soft and velvety smooth. Deeply moisturising with shea butter, jojoba oil, coconut oil, aloe leaf, and the essential oil and hydrolat of damask roses. The cold-pressed plant oils, naturally high in antioxidants of vitamins A & E, and sea buckthorn help counteract the ageing and collagen-destroying effects of ‘free radicals’ and sunlight. Please note that this moisturiser is also suitable as an eye cream.

We make the Rose Moisturiser with:
– Organic shea butter (protecting and moisturising)
– Organic sea buckthorn (a rich plant source of a natural component of our skin, an Omega 7 fatty acid, the production of which declines with age)
– Organic coconut oil (moisturising, conditioning)
– Organic aloe vera (nourishing, repairing)
– Organic rose water
– Organic rose (gentle, calming and restorative)

Suitable for Vegans.
Product is Soil Association Certified.
We use recyclable packaging that was manufactured in the UK and Western Europe. It has not been air freighted to us.

My Thoughts
I love rose products and this does have a classic rose scent. It is quite a runny consistency but sinks into the skin quickly and leaves a pretty smell with no greasiness

Dr Bronner’s – Pure Castile Soap
rrp $2.99 2oz ( uk availability?)

20120831-113415.jpg
Product info:

Citrus-
Nothing smells as fresh as the smell of organic citrus oils. The organic orange, lemon, and lime stimulate the skin and invigorate the body, resulting in a truly refreshing shower experience. All oils and essential oils are certified organic to the National Organic Standards Program. Packaged in 100% post-consumer recycled plastic bottles.

Baby Mild-
Our unscented baby contains no fragrance so is great for people who have allergies or sensitive skin. Of course it is great for babies as well. All oils and essential oils are certified organic to the National Organic Standards Program. Packaged in 100% post-consumer recycled plastic bottles.

18 in 1 Peppermint-
Our most popular fragrance. The peppermint essential oil tingles the body and clears the mind. Because therapeutically peppermint oil is a mild stimulant it increases vitality and clarity. All oils and essential oils are certified organic to the National Organic Standards Program. Packaged in 100% post-consumer recycled plastic bottles.

My thoughts
The citrus soap is thin and lathers well enough. The smell is DIVINE, like real lemon peel, unlike other lemon products I have and my hands feel so clean! I love this and and am looking forward to trying the others out.

Phil Smith Be Gorgeous – Dry Clean Revitalising Dry Shampoo
rrp £2.99 75ml

20120831-113644.jpg
Product Info:
Dry clean shampoo
Refresh and revitalise
revives hair in between washes

My Thoughts
I have never been too sure about dry shampoos although many people swear by them. Maybe for a festival or somewhere without a shower but the old fashioned way of water and shampoo sits better with me. Honestly, I am not sure I will even try this, but let me know if I am missing out.

So Susan Cosmetics – Wide awake face palette

No information available :s

20120831-115017.jpg

My thoughts
This product looks very cheap. The sticker inside is wonky and isn’t even stuck on properly. The cream corrector/concealers are ok yet quite thin. I am also unsure of the eyebrow colours as they are shimmery which is never a good thing! Hmmmm not quite sure about this?!?

Cut by Fred- Leather Hair Styling Lace

20120831-115148.jpg

My Thoughts
This is a funny little product. I am not sure how I would make this work. In fact I may use it as a wrap bracelet as it is quite a nice suede material and fits in with my Autumn wardrobe.

Let me know if there is anything you would like me to add or if you have any thoughts on these products.
Thank you for reading!
🙂

2 thoughts on “August Joliebox -First thoughts!

    1. frombeauty2fashion Post author

      Thanks for reading! Your blog looks great! Love your style!
      Im just starting out but it is so fun!
      I shall be blogging both my jokie and glossy boxes each month so fewl free to sneek a peak. 🙂

      Reply

Please give me your thoughts ...

